Located in Bristol, IN

Find Inductees

Hall of Fame Announces

Class of 2017

Bethany Christian:
Charlie Steiner (1967)
Sarah Yoder 2001

Jim Laughman (1968)

Jim DeGraff (1953)

Elkhart Memorial:
Kelvin Walker (1983)
Jon Cook (Coach)

Tod Groff (1976)
Matthew Rush (1997)

Don Leedy (1965)

Kyle Johnson (2004)
Steve Greenlee (Volunteer)

Cassie Bjurstrom-Jarrard (2003)
Joe Gibson (2007)

Crystal Bonewitz-Weatherton (1995)
Jami Heckaman-Barbara (1995)
Wesley Dodson (1997)

History of the Hall of Fame

History of the Hall of Fame

Mike Bicanic never played or coached athletics in Elkhart County, but it was Mike who was the prime mover behind the forming of the Elkhart County Sports Hall of Fame.

The first meetings were held at the Jimtown school administration office. The first inductions took place in 1994 and the induction banquet was held at the old Bristol High School gymnasium (the current home of the Hall of Fame).  The original selection committee consisted of Mike Bicanic, Dave Smith, Bill Beck, Devon “Bunny” Beehler, Don Carpenter, Gary Cook, Jerry Cook, Millie Ferro, Jim Hettler, Rex Krider, Tom Kurth, Stan Lewallen, Jack Lorri, Dave Martin, Diana Perry, Jim Powers, Bob Riley, Dale Stauffer, Dick Swartz, Stu Swartz, Roger Sweisberger, and Fred Voorde.

The inaugural induction class numbered 32.  Since then, except for 3 years (1997, 1999, and 2000), there have been yearly induction ceremonies. Over 300 former athletes, coaches, media members, and volunteers have been honored by the Hall of Fame. Induction banquets are currently held in November at the Matterhorn Restaurant in Elkhart.